26 Municipalities Waiting to Welcome You

There are 23 municipalities in the province of Jaen that lie fully or partially within the territory of the park, and they are soon to be joined by a further two. There is another municipality that, although located outside the park, is fully incorporated into its sphere of influence. Some towns lie on the periphery of the protected area, while others are located within it, and the various municipalities are divided between the three regions of Cazorla, Segura and Las Villas that give the park its name. The northern area of the park, which corresponds to the Sierra de Segura mountain range, is the most densely populated zone with nine town halls (the main nuclei of the municipalities) and dozens of tiny, scattered villages.

The park's towns are small, easily navigable and welcoming. Those with the largest populations, such as Cazorla, Villanueva del Arzobispo and Villacarillo, are on the edge of the park and have fewer than 10,000 inhabitants. The smaller villages located within the park have populations of barely 500, as is the case in Segura de la Sierra, Hornos de Segura and Benatae. Other towns are of an intermediate size, with populations ranging from around 2000 inhabitants (Siles, Orcera, La Puerta de Segura, Huesa and Santo Tomé) to 5000 (Pozo Alcón and Quesada).

The people living in the park have learnt how to adapt to the harshness of their environment and today, despite the fact that rural life is not easy, they still strive to make a living by allying themselves with nature to produce high-quality products and services. In our park you will find the best olive oil and lamb products and a fine selection of accommodation, restaurants and activities. It is easy to see why the Sierras de Cazorla, Segura y Las Villas Natural Park has been called an earthly paradise.