Sierra de Cazorla

The Sierra de Cazorla region is located in the southeast of the province of Jaén, bordered to the northeast by the Sierra de Segura, to the northwest by La Loma and Las Villas, to the southwest by Sierra Mágina and to the south and southeast by the province of Granada. It is made up of eight municipalities, numerous hamlets and farmhouses are distributed throughout its geography, crowned by the sierras of Cazorla, Quesada, El Pozo and La Cabrilla.

Forty percent of the territory belongs to the Natural Park of Cazorla, Segura and Las Villas, the largest Protected Natural Area in Spain, declared a Biosphere Reserve through UNESCO's Man and Biosphere Programme (MAB) and a Special Protection Area for Birds (SPA) by the European Union.

The high average altitude, over 1,000 m, and its numerous peaks that reach and exceed 2,000 m, give the region a spectacular beauty and great uniqueness to the landscape, conditioned by the abundance of water and the limestone nature of the rocks that give rise to an intricate network of mountains and valleys with steep slopes and numerous karst forms.

The cuisine of the Sierra de Cazorla, traditionally of great sobriety, is defined by the products of the environment, with abundant seasoning, game, fishing, fresh pulses and vegetables..., not forgetting its excellent extra olive oil, with designation of origin "Sierra de Cazorla". The most traditional dishes are gachamigas, talarines, ajoharina, rin ran or trout in almond sauce, among other delicacies. Its game and pork sausages are also among the best in the province. Traditional pastries include gachas, roscos de miga, papajotes, tortas de matalauva and arroz con leche (rice pudding).

You must login to use this function.